13 miles…no medal

I am making up for two weeks on this post.  Last weekend was Easter weekend and it was a busy one.  I did manage to get in my 12 mile run on Friday, which didn’t go well.  I took a spin class with friends on Thursday night – so my legs were sore from mile 1.  I also jumped the gun and started running to soon after lunch – so I was running through some cramps but I got it done.

This is what the last couple weeks looked like.  The 19 on Thursday includes my spin class and I know I went about 16 miles but I also forgot to turn it on for awhile…not an experienced spinner and not to self:  never take a sporadic spin class the day before a long run.

2weeks

This week I was running through some ankle pain that I have never had before and some minor hip and knee pains.  In the end, I ran my 13 miles today on the treadmill… a winter storm decided to come Friday night and dump some snow on us, it’s Sunday and still trying to snow.

I measured about 7″ on our deck.  Dark picture but you get the point.

snow

I also experimented with some different energy gels today.  I tried out the Stinger energy gel and I liked it so much better than the regular GU.  We also picked up some shot blocks, stinger waffle and sports beans but haven’t tried them yet.   My husband and I have just been stuck on the GU for no specific reason except we had tried it and just didn’t experiment with others.

I am still collecting in-kind donations from businesses to help me reach my fundraising goal.  Currently, I have a donation from Kaleidoscape, Lexie Loops, and Feather Skin & Body Studio.  I will be donating a couple of my spectacular non-slip headbands and making a couple of fleece blankets to go with the hats from Lexie Loops.  I am excited about this event which takes place at UAA on April 19.

On to the headbands and fundraising!  I am currently at $828 for my fundraising.  As always, a huge Thank YOU to all those who have donated and those that have purchased headbands to help me reach my goal.  I will be at the Spring Fling for Women this coming Saturday from 10-2 with other TNT members and we will have a table for LLS.  I will also be selling my headbands!

lotsbands

I have also ordered more colors/ribbon to make more!  I am so glad that they have been such a big hit 🙂  They have been flying out the door!

If you would like to make a donation, please go here: http://pages.teamintraining.org/wa/rnrseatl13/bstepetin

Till next week.

Thanks for reading,

~Brandy – running in honor of you, Grandpa!

Leave a comment